800 20 30 40


The expressways correspond to roads with a maximum running speed of 80 km / h outside the localities and composed of a single lane with a cross section of 1x2 lanes plus berms, having an additional road on the ascending side for slow transports.

The VIAEXPRESSO Concession is distributed over 4 sections designated VE1 to VE4 (see figure below), for a total of 68.96 km. The tracks of this concession have, in general, a type profile with a platform with 2 tracks.

They have an additional track when the slopes of the trainings do not allow speeds suitable for heavy vehicles (sections VE1 and VE4).

VE3 presents a 1.3 km stretch with a 2 x 2-way profile, from the intersection with VR1 to the entrance of the Ribeira Brava / Tabua tunnel.

Concessão Viaexpresso

VE1, with 20.7 km, starts at VR1 in Machico, and ends at Ribeira de São Jorge, Santana county. The connection with VR1 is made using an uneven node and access to routes / locations crossed by level crossings or by roundabout intersections.

VE2, with 14.05 km, connects São Vicente and Porto Moniz, constituting an alternative to the old ER101.

VE3, with 21.86 km, starts in Ribeira Brava, develops along the southwest coast of the island and ends at Raposeira. This section crosses the localities of Tabua, Ponta do Sol, Magdalena do Mar and Calheta.

VE4, with 12.35 km, materializes the preferential link between the south coast and the north coast, to the west of the island. This section begins in Serra d'Água and ends in São Vicente (km 0 000 of section VE2). A significant part of the layout of this section is developed along the Encumeada tunnel, 3.1 km long.

The Concession has a Open line and Tunnel profile in about 98% of its extension, where the Tunnel route has a special highlight, representing about half of the total concession area.

The bridges / viaducts profile represents only 5% of the total concession.

The Concession is responsible for the operation and maintenance of 44 tunnels in the main network.

The VIAEXPRESSO is also responsible for 35 bridges / viaducts, 18 roundabouts, 7 overpasses and about 47 crossings of the hydraulic passage type and underpass. The bridges / viaducts have an average length of 80 m, the lowest being 16 m and the largest being 280 m.

The VIAEXPRESSO is in charge of two of the largest road tunnels in the country. Both are more than 3 km long, the most extensive being the Cortado tunnel in Santana, which is about 3200 m. It follows the Encumeada Tunnel (with 3100m), between the municipalities of Ribeira Brava and São Vicente, connecting the south coast to the north coast.



Transshipment Km
1    Machico - Folhada 8,00 
Folhada - Faial  3,60 
Faial - Santana 5,40
Santana  3,70
2 São Vicente - Seixal  6,50
Seixal - Porto Moniz 7,55 
3      Ribeira Brava - Tabua 1,76
Tabua - Ponta do Sol 2,54 
Ponta do Sol - Madalena do Mar 2,90 
Madalena do Mar - Ribeira Funda  5,36 
Ribeira Funda - Raposeira do Lugarinho  7,30 
Ribeira Brava - VR1  2,00 
4   VR1 - Meia légua  1,70 
Serra de Água - S.Vicente 10,65 


Identification of the tunnels involved in concession

VE Tunnel Length (m)
VE1 Quinta 388
Ribeira Grande 443
 Cales 850
 Norte 2.100
Guarda 243
Serrado 129
Achada 464
Cruz 654
Cortado 3.168
Rochedo do Navio 216
Santana 113
 Pinheiro 700
Ribeira de São Jorge 365
VE2 T. da Terra Chã 491
Água D' Alto 600
Ribeira do Inferno 425
 Ladeira da Vinha 475
João Delgado 1.274
 Ribeiro Moinho 136
Lugar 310
Seixal 1.236
Fajã da Parreira 31
 Fajã das Contreiras 2.586
Casais 1.363
T. da Ribeira Janela 363
Fajã do Barro 325
Fajã do Manuel 520
VE3 Gesteiro 186
Ribeira Brava / Tabua 1.395
Tabua 640
Lugar de Baixo 720
Ponta do Sol / Madalena Mar 2.682
 Arco 1.373
Doutor 958
 Calheta 819
 Igreja 506
Moinhos 290
Jardim Pelado 1.020
Lombo da Velha 105
Raposeira 260
VE4 Meia Légua 470
 Encumeada 3.100
Saramago 175
 Cardais 320
Copyright © VIAEXPRESSO,S.A.
Privacy Policy